Anti-graft war: How EFCC secured 62 convictions in first quarter

EFCC has disclosed that through diligent investigations and prosecutions, the agency has secured about 62 convictions in the first quarter of 2017.

The embattled agency’s Acting Chairman, Mr. Ibrahim Magu, said that to ensure that they beam their searchlight on every sector, the anti-graft agency deployed its operatives to the countries embassies and missions abroad.

National Daily learnt that among those convicted included the former state governor of Adamawa state, Bala Ngilari of N167, 812,500 fraud and Ontario Oil and Gas Chairman Walter Wagbatsoma and Managing Director of the company, Ada Ugo-Ngadi of N1.9 billion subsidy fraud.

The Chairman further disclosed that the agency will “continue to fight corruption whether anybody likes it or not.”

These details are contained in EFCC Alert, a monthly documentation of the commission.

ALSO SEE: EFCC drags two scammers to court for €88, 000 fraud

According to the document revealed that: “At the end of the first quarter of 2017, the EFCC secured 62 convictions, with the record set to be increased before the end of the second quarter, as it intensifies efforts geared towards ridding the country of economic and financial crimes.

“Perhaps, more significant, is the fact that the record also includes that of a former state governor, oil magnates, among others.

Others convicted were: Rowaye Jubril (104 years jail term for N1.05 billion oil subsidy fraud); former Caretaker Chairman, Ogori/ Magongo Local Government Area of Kogi State, Gabriel Daudu (77 counts of N1.4b fraud); Hanna Abraham (14-year imprisonment for obtaining money by false pretence); Obinna Nnamdi (two-year jail term for Internet fraudster).

Other convicts are: Uche Clinton and Emmanuel Okanni(N.8m BVN scam); Akintunde Abiodun (12- count charge bordering on stealing and forgery to the tune of N7, 806, 093); Frank Nwaotule (two count charge bordering on criminal breach of trust and obtaining by false pretence to the tune of N5million); Usman Ahmed, Isiyaku Mohammed, Mohammed Badadi and Rilwanu Abdullahi (possession of fake Naira notes totaling N583, 000); Olugbenga Fabunmi, (one count charge bordering on Advanced Fee Fraud).

Also convicted was: Osagie Bliss (three-count charge bordering on conspiracy, possession of fraudulent documents and obtaining by false pretense); Jehu Kwasu (two-count charge, forgery and obtaining by false pretense about N5 million); Christopher Ngene (three count charge of fraud, N200,000); Abubakar Umar and Habu Dogo (currency counterfeiters jailed for seven years.

Magu reiterated, “Corruption flourishes when good people fail to confront it. You should key into our mission of ridding Nigeria of corruption, as this will be your greatest service to Nigeria.

“We will continue to fight corruption, whether anybody likes it or not. We are convinced that it is the only way we can bring succor to this country.