APC appoints 68-Member Convention Committee


The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Sunday released a list of 68 members of the National Convention Committee.

The ruling party had earlier notified the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) of its readiness to convene national convention to elect new leaders.

The convention committee list indicates Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa State is chairman of the Committee; and Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State, the deputy chairman. Senator Ben Uwajomogu was identified as the Secretary.

Membership of the committee comprises of 10 governors, some members of National Assembly, and other APC stakehodlers.

The governors include Rochas Okorocha, Imo State; Kashim Shettima, Borno State; Aminu Masari, Katsina; Abiola Ajimobi, Oyo; Ibrahim Gaidam, Yobe; and Ahmed El-Rufai, Kaduna.

Others include Simeon Lalong, Plateau; Bindo Jibrila, Adamawa);Yahaya Bello, Kogi,  and Godwin Obaseki, Edo.

The senators in the committee include Ahmed Yerima, Adamu Aliero, Danjuma Goje, Abdullahi Adamu, George Akume, suspended Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, Andrew Uchendu, Abdullahi Danbaba, Baba Kuka and John Enoh while a former President of the Senate, Senator Ken Nnamani, is also a member.

Two ministers on the list include Chris Ngige, Labour and Productivity, and Uguru Usani, Niger Delta.

The committee members have the mandate to work out details of the national convention which may hold in or before June 2018 when the tenure of the current national Working Committee (NWC) elapses.