Buhari swears-in six new INEC commissioners


    President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday charged newly sworn in commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to be fair and firm in the discharge of their electoral assignments.

    He gave the charge during the swearing in ceremony for six commissioners at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

    The new commissioners, whose appointments have been confirmed by the Senate, are Mohammed Kudu Haruna (North-central), Retired Air Vice Marshal Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (North-east), Abubakar Nahuche (North-west), Professor Okechukwu Ibeano (South-east); May Agbamuche Mbu, (South-south) and Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (South-west).

    Buhari told them to live up to expectation as his administration is extremely concerned about integrity of electoral processes.

    He said: “You are coming on board at a critical time of our political development. I am sure you have truly observed the bye-elections from Kogi to Bayelsa, Rivers, Edo and Ondo. I am sure you are even concerned about the carnage in some of the elections and the resources dissipated.

    “This administration is extremely concerned about the integrity of the electoral processes. You are people of great integrity known throughout the country.

    “This administration will demand of you to be firm and fair. What this administration expects is that after we have gone, Nigerians will read the political history and know that we served Nigeria.

    “We want every Nigerian to use his PVC cross checked by card reader, that they have been given the opportunity and security in their respective constituencies to elect those they want to elect. The rest is left to their conscience and to God,” he added.

    Speaking on behalf of the commissioners, Ibeano thanked the President and Nigerians for giving them the opportunity to serve the country.

    “We pledge to discharge our duties, responsibilities and functions as contained in the oath of allegiance and oath of office which we have just sworn to.

    “We seek the support and prayers of the government and people of Nigeria so that we can discharge our functions to the best of our abilities and contribute to improve the advances and achievements that have been recorded in our electoral processes so far,” he added.