Edo Election Petition Tribunal receives six petitions



    The Edo State Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Benin City, has received six election petitions from candidates in the National Assembly election held on February 23, 2019.

    The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, is contesting one Senate seat and two House of Representatives seats while the All Progressives Congress, APC, is challenging one senate position and two House of Representatives seats.

    The six petitions before the Edo State Election Petition Tribunal are those of the Edo North PDP senatorial candidate, Abubakar Momoh, challenging the victory of the APC candidate, Francis Alimikhena.

    Momoh is asking the court to declare him the winner of the February 23 National Assembly election having scored the highest lawful votes cast.

    The APC senatorial candidate in Edo Central senatorial district, John Inegbedion, is also challenging the results declared by INEC, which confirmed Senator Clifford Ordia as the winner,

    For the House of Representatives seats, the PDP candidate in Etsako Federal Constituency, Blessing Agbomhere, is contesting the results of the winner, Johnson Ogumah of the APC, while the APC House of Reps. candidate for Egor/ Ikpoba Okha Federal Constituency, Johnson Agbonayinma, is challenging the PDP candidate, Jude Ise – Idehen, who won the election.

    The only female federal lawmaker from the state, Omosede Igbinedion of the PDP is also contesting the result which declared Dennis Idahosa of the APC winner.

    Idiake Patrick of the APC is challenging Joe Edionwele of the PDP who won the Esan West, Central and Igueben Federal Constituency.

    The petitioners are claiming they scored the majority of lawful votes cast, and are, therefore, asking the Tribunal to declare them winners of the elections in their various constituencies.