Connect with us


Governor Sule showers victorious Nasarawa United, Amazons with cash,pledges bues



Spread The News

Governor Abdullahi Audu Sule, today, announced cash reward and team bus pledge for the victorious Nasarawa United and Nasarawa Amazons Football Clubs at a reception in their honour for winning the Aiteo Federation’ Cup(female) and Ahlan Preseason Cup in Kaduna and Kano State respectively,National Daily learnt.

At a special governorship reception in honour of the victorious teams at the Conference Hall of the Nasarawa State Government House, Lafia, Governor Sule rewarded both the  Technical Crew of Nasarawa United and Nasarawa Amazons with Two Million Naira (N2,000,000) each, players of both teams got Five Million Naira(N5,000,000) each, while the Supporters’ club received One Million Naira(N1,000,000), making a total of Fifteen Million Naira(N15,000,000) largesse the Governor splashed out to both state’s teams.

Governor Sule assured both Nasarawa United and Nasarawa Amazons of his support, saying that with the victories of the teams, the process of rebuilding the sports sub-sector in the State had begun.

“I want to congratulate both teams for their wonderful feats in the country. This administration places high premium in sports development.

“My administration is determined to discover talents, develop and empower them to reduce youth restiveness and provide employment opportunities to the increasing number of youth we have in the state

“In this regard, we have concluded arrangements to revamp school sports as it is from there you see the real talents for poduim appearance”, the Governor said.

He stated that his administration would continue to give sports a place of pride, assuring both Clubs’ Managements and Officials of his full support as the teams get ready to commence the new football league seasons.

“Concerning your requests on sign-on fees, team buses and better welfare package, we will critically look into that. We will reward our players who have national call-ups to compensate them in order to do more and this cuts across other sports as well.

“I urge you to continue to do your best so that you could make the state proud.

“But I call on all those who have been supporting us to continue to do so so that we can excel together”, he added.

Before presenting the trophies to the Governor, Chairmen of
Nasarawa United and Nasarawa Amazons, Abdullahi Ibrahim Osanga and Hajiya Husseina Suleiman Nagogo, introduced their managements, members of their victorious teams and their officials.

Nasarawa Amazons’ captain, Maryam Ibrahim, presented the Aiteo Federation’s trophy won to the Governor while Captain of Nasarawa United, Emmanuel Makama, presented the Ahlan Preseason tournament trophy won to the Governor.


Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, Bulus Musa Amoyi, said that winning the trophies was a milestone, saying that the ultimate aim “is to rule Nigeria and Africa, not only in football but other sporting events.”

He noted that the level of unity of purpose ultimately determines winning or losing in a competition.

Amoyi commended the courage of both Nasarawa United and Nasarawa Amazons for their outstanding performances in the competitions, saying that the Ministry would continue to give them the encouragement and support needed to succeed.

Giving his closing remark, Senior Special Assistant to Governor Abdullahi Sule on Youth, Sports and NGOs’ Matters, Kwanta Yakubu, said Nasarawa State is lucky to have a sports-loving Governor like Engr. Sule.

“Your Excellency, we place our profound appreciation for your demonstration of love for sports in Nasarawa State, despite being on seat for less than one year.

“This rare love you have for sports has dramatically changed the status and perceptions of sports in the State and beyond.

“We thank you for your prompt response to the sports subsector. But like Oliver Twist, we are pleading and asking for more to completely change the status-quos”, the SSA pleaded.

Nasarawa Amazons defeated Rivers Angels 5-4 on penalty shootout in the final of the Female Aiteo Federation’s Cup at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna, on 28th July, 2019, after regulation time ended goalless, to be crowned 2019 champions, while Nasarawa United beat El-Kanemi Warriors 1-0 on 16th October, 2019, at the final of the third Ahlan Preseason tournament decided at the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.