FRSC Corp Marshal, Hyundai Creta, others shine at 2021 NAJA awards

Spread the love



The Corp Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Commission, Dr. Boboye Oyeyemi, Chief Diana Chen are among dignitaries honoured at the 2021 Nigerian Auto Journalists Award held at the Eko Hotels and Suites on Wednesday, December 1.

While Oyeyemi was honoured with the Road Safety Personality of the Decades, Chief Diana Chen of CIG motors was awarded the Auto Personality of the Year award at the colourful ceremony.

Meanwhile, Hyundai Creta also emerged as the 2021 Car-of-The- Year (COTY) in Nigeria. The sensational Hyundai Creta SUV was pronounced winner ahead of Toyota Corolla and Kia Rio.

The annual event put together by Nigeria Auto Journalists Association (NAJA) had in attendance key stakeholders in the automobile and transport sector in Nigeria including the Corp Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), Dr Boboye Oyeyemi, representative of the Director General of the National Automotive Design and Development Council (NADDC), Jelani Aliyu among others.

READ ALSOHow Omo-Agege, others rigged 2018 election for Oyetola in Osun – Yusuff

In 2019 Toyota Corolla won the award. The award ceremony was not held in 2020 due to the ravaging effect of Covid-19 across the world.

Recently launched in the country, the 2021 Car of The Year, the Hyundai Creta, a Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV) is described as a car with a redesigned shape set to create unparalleled driving experiences for customers.

According to Hyundai, CRETA has been transformed into the ultimate sub-compact SUV for any terrain.

Building on the success of the previous model, the fresh-look CRETA is more spacious, boasts improved features and utilizes state-of-the-art technologies to meet the complete needs of working professionals, young peer group and families.

Mr. Gaurav Vashisht, Head, Sales and Marketing at Hyundai Motors Nigeria, said: “Developing high-quality vehicles are at the core of our vision and this is reflected with the all-new Hyundai CRETA model.

The award night also saw Toyota Land cruiser, Mercedes-Benz SL, Toyota Hilux emerging as Large SUV of the Year, Luxury SUV of the year and Pickup of the year respectively.