Connect with us


INEC releases final list of candidates for Osun state governorship election



Why the 2023 presidential race will be a shot in the dark
Spread The News

The Independent Electoral Commission (INEC), has released the final list of candidates for the July 16 governorship election in Osun state.

In a statement, Festus Okoye, INEC national commissioner and chairman, information and voter education committee, said under section 32(2) of the electoral act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list should notify the commission in writing.

Okoye added that the letter on candidates missing from the list must be signed by the party’s national chairman and secretary, and supported with an affidavit to be submitted not later than 90 days to the election.

READ ALSOExpunge names of dead persons from voters’ register now, HURIWA tells INEC

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022,List of Candidates which provides that failure to notify the Commission shall not be grounds to invalidate the election,” the statement reads.

“The final list is published in our state and local government offices in Osun State as well as our website and social media platforms for public information as required by law.”

The list shows that Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Adegboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and 13 other candidates — all male — are vying for the governorship position.

There are, however, six female candidates vying for the position of deputy governor.

List of Candidates

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.