Kylian Mbappe wins Men’s player of the year at 2021 Globe Soccer Awards

Spread the love

French forward Kylian Mbappe, Manchester United forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Bayern Munich striker, Robert Lewandowski have all bagged awards at the Dubai 2021 Globe Soccer Awards.

Mbappe won the Best Men’s Player of the Year at the ceremony on Monday night, December 27 beating six-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo; Lionel Messi, Mohamed Salah, Karim Benzema, and Lewandowski to the award.

The 23-year-old Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) star scooped the prize in a ceremony at the Armani Hotel, Dubai.

“It is a big achievement for me. I want to say thank you to my club Paris Saint-Germain, who believed in me these past five years, even better this season,” he said after he was handed the award.

“To my national team; to all the people who nobody knows who work with me, who help me a lot; to my family, they are there with me, always with me.”

“It’s a pleasure for me to be in Dubai with these great football legends,” Mbappe said. “I thank my club for believing in me, my teammates for giving me so much, my family for always being with me.

“I’m very motivated to come back next year to win more individual and collective prizes.”

Last season, Mbappe scored 27 to emerge as the highest goalscorer in Ligue 1 although his form did not stop PSG from finishing as runners-up to Lille.

Mbappe also helped France win the UEFA Nation’s League.

Other winners at the 12th edition of the awards include Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski, and Ronaldinho.

Below is a full list of winners at the Globe Soccer Awards 2021:

  • Fan’s Player of the Year – Robert Lewandowski
  • Men’s Player of the Year – Kylian Mbappe
  • Maradona Award – Robert Lewandowski
  • Top Scorer of All Time – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Best National Team of the Year – Italy
  • Best Agent of the Year – Federico Pastorello
  • Best Sporting Director of the Year – Txiki Begiristain
  • Best Men’s Club of the Year – Chelsea
  • Best Defender of the Year – Leonardo Bonucci
  • Best Goalkeeper of the Year – Gianluigi Donnarumma
  • Women’s Club of the Year – Barcelona
  • Women’s Player of the Year – Alexia Putellas
  • Innovation Award – Serie A
  • Best eSports Player of the Year – Msdossary7
  • Best Youth Academy in Africa – ZED FC