Connect with us


@7pm APC Chairman Adamu denies knowledge of party’s loss in Osun poll



Spread The News

National Chairman of the Governing All Progressives Congress (APC) Alhaji Abdullahi Adamu has shocked Nigerians with his denial of knowledge of the loss of his party at the just concluded governorship election in Osun State.

Speaking at a live current affairs programme on Arise TV on Sunday evening more than 10 hours after the results of the election were announced, Senator Adamu said that INEC was yet to announce the winner. And despite being corrected by the anchor of the programme Mr. Steve Ayorinde the former Nassarawa Governor insisted that he is unaware, and that the news of the party’s loss was still to reach him.

Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ademola Adeleke has been declared the winner of the Osun governorship election, defeating incumbent Governor, Gboyega Oyetola, of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced Adeleke as the winner of the election which was held across Osun State on Saturday morning.

Adeleke garnered a total of 403,371 to defeat Oyetola who got 375,027 votes in a keenly contested race, according to the Returning Officer for the election and Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe who announced the result.

The opposition party, PDP won 17 of the 30 Local Government Areas of the state, while the APC won the remaining 13.

The PDP won in Ede North, Ede South, Ifelodun, Boluwaduro, Egbedore, Odo Otin, Osogbo, Ila, Atakumosa West, Olorunda, Ilesa West, Obokun, Oriade, Orolu, Ife North, Irepodun, and Ejigbo LGAs.

While, APC won in Boripe, Ilesa East, Ayedire, Ifedayo, Ife Central, Ayedaade, Iwo, Olaoluwa, Isokan, Atakumosa East, Ife South, Ife Central, and Ife East LGAs.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.