President Muhammadu Buhari, on Thursday appointed Mr. Mele Kolo Kyari as Group Managing Director (GMD) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

Mr. Mele Kolo Kyari succeeds Dr. Maikanti Baru whose appointment was not renewed by the President.

His appointment takes effect from July 7, 2019.

The President also appointed seven new Chief Operating Officers for the Corporation. The new officers include: Mr. Roland Onoriode Ewubare (South-South), Chief Operating Officer, Upstream; Engineer; Mustapha Yinusa Yakubu (North-Central),Chief Operating Officer, Refining and Petrochemicals; Engineer Yusuf Usman (North-East) Chief Operating Officer, Gas and Power;
Ms. Lawrencia Nwadiabuwa Ndupu (South-East), Chief Operating Officer, Ventures; Mr. Umar Isa Ajiya (North-West), Chief Financial Officer; Engineer Adeyemi Adetunji (South-West),Chief Operating Officer, Downstream; and Mr. Farouk Garba Said (North-West), Chief Operating Officer, Corporate Services; whose appointment takes effect from 28th June, 2019.

President also directed that the new appointees to work with the current occupants of the various positions between now and 7th July, 2019 towards a smooth transition on 8 July, 2019.