Connect with us


APC appoints Danbazzau, Ekwunife, into State Congresses, Appeal Committees



Spread the love

The All Progressives Congress (APC) on Thursday inaugurated a 5-member State Congress Committees to conduct congresses in different states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) this Saturday.

The State Congress Chairmen include Pius Odubu, Adamawa State; Gen. Danjuma Danbazzau, Taraba State; Prince Austin Eweka, Kano; Sen. Domingo Obende, Niger); Sen. Jonathan Zwingina, Abia; Sen. Olugbenga Obadara, Delta; Sen. Uche Ekwunife, Lagos; Hon. Mathew Omegara, Ondo;  Peter Obadan, Ogun;  Abdullahi Gwarzo, Oyo; among others.

The Appeal committees include Chris Akoma, Chairman, Ebonyi State; Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye, Rivers; Hon. Bashir Lado, Ogun; Alh. S. Abubakar Maikudi, Bauchi; Amb. Jerry Ugog, Kano; Barr. Kogolo Peter; Imo; etc.

The respective three-member committees were given the mandate to handle appeals that may arise from the State Congresses.

APC National Organising Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso, who inaugurated the committees on behalf of the National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, advocated that the congress must be conducted in strict conformity with the official APC Guidelines for State Congresses (

Izunaso said the State Congress Committees are expected to hold meetings with stakeholders in the respective states on Friday before Saturday’s nationwide Congresses to elect State executive committee which include the traditional 17-member State Working Committees.

The Organising Secretary warned against unilateral postponement of Sate Congresses without approval by the National Working Committee (NWC).

Izunaso said every petition from individuals who contested elections must be entertained. He cautioned the Appeal Committees to gauge the security situation in their respective state in deciding where to hold Appeal sittings. He said the NWC has the final decision on Appeals.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.