Connect with us


EDO: Breaking! APC lawmakers impeach Speaker, seek truce with Obaseki



Spread The News

In quick succession, the Edo House of Assembly has witnessed a number of twists, including the impeachment of its Speaker and, twice, his deputy in less than 48 hours, and the suspense is not ending soon.

Following the siege on, and removal of roofing of the assembly complex apparently supervised by Gov Godwin Obaseki, the APC lawmakers-elect—i4 of them—teamed up with three others and impeached Speaker Frank Okiye and the new Dep Speaker Roland Asoro.

Now taking their places are Victor Edoro and Emmanuel Agbaje as Speaker and deputy respectively. Both were sworn too.

Edo has 23 members in the House of Assembly.

The lawmakers-elect swore themselves in before proceeding on the mockery of an impeachment that reportedly took place somewhere in Benin.

While they pledged allegiance to the APC governorship candidate Osagie Ize-Iyamu, the lawmakers said they wouldn’t impeach Obaseki—for the sake of peace.

The Speaker urged the police to keep the vandalized Assembly comlplex safe for a plenary Aug 7.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.