Connect with us


Labour Party sweeps Cross River, wins Reps seat



Spread the love



The Labour Party (LP) has won 10 out of 18 local government areas of Cross River state while the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) got 7 local government areas leaving one for the main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

In a result announced in Calabar, Monday night, by the Independent National Electoral Commission, which was supervised by the State Presidential Collation Officer, Prof Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, the Labour Party polled 179, 935 votes to come above the APC with 130, 520 votes. The PDP trailed with 95, 415 votes.

Shockingly too, Hon Bassey Akiba, candidate of the LP also won the House of Representatives seat for Odukpani federal constituency, defeating a sitting House Member, Hon Eta Mbora of the PDP and another contender, Ntufam Inok Edim of the APC.

READ ALSOObi floors Tinubu, Atiku’s in Plateau

Moreover, the Returning Officer for the central senatorial district election, Dr. Okeme Isaac, had declared the APC candidate and the current Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon. Eteng Jonah Williams, winner of the senatorial seat.

Eteng defeated Honorable Bassey Eko Ewa of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP with 57,344 votes while Ewa polled 53, 453 votes.

There were indications that the APC candidate for the southern senatorial district, Mr. Asuqu Ekpenyong, had also floored his PDP opponent, Ntufam Ekpo Okon. The announcement of the result was being awaited as at press time.

Senator Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe of the PDP had earlier won the Cross River northern senatorial district seat, defeating Governor Ben Ayade of the APC with 76,145 votes. Ayade scored 56, 595 votes.

Meanwhile the result for the House of Representatives seats released so far showed that the APC has already won five House of Representatives seats, PDP has two while the LP clinched the remaining one seat.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.