Edo 2020: Obaseki polls 307,955 votes, defeats Ize-Iyamu, 223,619

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared iIncumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), winner of the Saturday governorship election in the State. Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who had 223,619 votes.

Announcing the result, the Returning Officer highlighted that the number of accredited voters is 557,443, total valid votes is         537,407; rejected votes     is 12,835 and total votes cast amount to       550,242.

The result as tabulated shows that incumbent Governor Obaseki won 13 local governments while Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the APC, won in 5 local governments.

Agents of all the political parties signed the result except the Agent of the APC who said that he had the mandate of his principal not to sign the result sheet.

The results in the 18 local governments as announced by the INEC are as follows:


APC             5,199

PDP             7,870

Esan central

APC             6,719

PDP             10,794

Esan northeast

APC             6,559

PDP             13,579

Esan southeast

APC             9,237

PDP             10,563

Esan West

APC             7,189

PDP             17,433


APC             18,218

PDP             41,030

Uhunmwode LGA

APC             5,972

PDP             10,022


APC             10,202

PDP             27,621

Owan east

APC             19,295

PDP             14,762

Owan west

APC             11,193

PDP             11,485

Ovia northeast

APC             9,907

PDP             16,987

Etsako West

APC             26,140

PDP             17,959

Oredo LGA

APC             18,365

PDP             43,498

Etsako east

APC             17,011

PDP             10,668

Etsako central

APC             8,359

PDP             7,478

Akoko Edo

APC             22,963

PDP             20,101



APC 10,458

PDP    13,445

Ovia southwest

APC    10,636

PDP    12,659

Total result:

APC             223,619 votes

PDP             307,955 votes


Accredited Voters   557,443

Total valid Votes     537,407

Rejected Votes       12,835

Total votes cast      550,242


  1. We all saw it coming. The double dealing of Oshiomole as in calling same man you painted black not only as sinner but as a criminal in 2016 as a saint 2020. The people of Edo read between the lines and made their final choice. Not even Jagaban’s eleventh hour “presidential” broadcast can sway them.