IGBOHO: Ooni appoints opposition elements on ‘si don look’ intervention committee

Spread the love

Following pleas by supporters of detained separatist leader Sunday Adeyemo in Benin Republic for alleged violation of immigration law and his likely extradition to Nigeria where he is a wanted man, the Ooni of Ife Eniitan Ogunwusi has moved to intervene.

But the intervention appears partisan, going by the membership of a committee he set up Thursday on the matter about to pit Nigeria against Benin.

The mandate of the committee does not show any clear step to intervene and rescue the trapped 48-year-old who had claimed he would break Yoruba away from Nigeria even if he had to die.

The 28-man committee is expected to monitor—as in providing updates to the Ooni as events unfold, counselling, mediating with the Yoruba Nation agitator’s legal team.

The only actionable aspect of their duty is: interface with the APC federal government and Beninese authorities.

However, no fewer than 26 of the members are either PDP or its sympathisers and members of the opposition.

Promnet traditional rulers and politicians Igboho chewed out during his Yoruba nation rallies across the southwest are not on the committee either.

The full list below:

  1. Olugbon of Igbon, Oba Olusola Alao
  2. Senator Biodun Olujimi
  3. Toyin Saraki
  4. Segun Awolowo
  5. Doyin Okupe
  6. Otunba Gbenga Daniel
  7. Prince Oye Oyewumi
  8. Muyiwa Ige
  9. General Olu Okunnowo
  10. DIG Taiwo Lakanu (rtd)
  11. Sola Ebiseni, Afenifere Secretary
  12. Jimi Agbaje
  13. Sola Lawal
  14. Debola Oluwagbayi
  15. Dupe Adelaja
  16. Dele Momodu
  17. Senator Tolu Odebiyi
  18. Dr. Olusegun Mimiko
  19. Dr. Seun Obasanjo
  20. Makin Soyinka
  21. Dele Adesina (SAN)
  22. AIG Tunji Alapinni (rtd.)
  23. Reuben Abati
  24. Eniola Bello
  25. Bimbo Ashiru
  26. Senator Tokunbo Ogunbanjo
  27. Dapo Adelegan
  28. Professor Akin Osuntokun