Connect with us


Kunle Solaja, Mark Glesson set new record for World Cup journalists



Spread the love

With nine World Cup coverages under his belt, Nigeria’s Kunle Solaja and South Africa’s Mark Glesson, each with nine appearances at the World Cup are among 80 other journalists honoured by the AIPS in conjunction with FIFA in Doha on Tuesday.

Solaja and South Africa’s Mark Glesson are the only Africans among the lots decorated at the ceremony.

The replica World Cup trophy and certificate of achievement presented to Kunle Solaja

They were presented with a certificate of achievement and replica of the World Cup trophy. The certificate is jointly signed by the FIFA president, Gianni Infantino and the AIPS president, Gianni Merlo.

The AIPS is the world body of sports journalists. The presentation of the replica trophies was done by World Cup legend, Ronaldo of Brazil.

Among those honoured is the 88 year old Enrique Macaya Márquez, a freelance journalist from Argentina.

His 64 year association with the World Cup has seen him cover the global event an amazing  17 times, surpassing that of Uruguay’s Diego Lucero, who until his death in 1995was known to be the only man to have attended all World Cup finals from 1930.

Before his death, he was associated with the World Cup from 1930 to 1994.

Shortly after the presentations, Solaja was selected for a special interview by FIFA TV.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.