Edo 2020: Apprehension as INEC goes on two hours break to collate Orhionmwon, Ovia south west results, after Obaseki leads 16 LGs

There appears to be rising apprehension and suspicion in Benin City as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) proceeded on  two hours break on Sunday morning after announcing results of the governorship election in Edo State in 16 of the 18 local government areas in which incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki maintained comfortable lead. The results from Orhionmwon and Ovia south west were still pending before the two hours break.

The apprehension arose from the fear of suspicion of pressure on the electoral umpire to manipulate figures of the results in Orhionmwon, Ovia south west to alter the pendulum of the electoral victory. It was said that the two local governments have large number of voters in the states.

Meanwhile, the results of the Edo governorship election in the Governor Obaseki is in the lead, are as follows:


APC    5,199

PDP    7,870

Esan central

APC    6,719

PDP    10,964

Esan north

APC    6,559

PDP    13,579

Esan south

APC    9,237

PDP    10,563

Esan West

APC    7,189

PDP    17,433


APC    18,218

PDP    41,030

Uhunmwode LGA

APC    5,972

PDP    10,022


APC    10,202

PDP    27,621

Owan east

APC    19,295

PDP    14,762

Owan west

APC    11,193

PDP    11,485

Ovia northeast

APC    9,907

PDP    16,987

Etsako West

APC    26,140

PDP    17,959

Oredo LGA

APC    18,365

PDP    43,498

Etsako east

APC             17,011

PDP             10,668

Etsako central

APC             8,359

PDP             7,478

Akoko Edo

APC             22,963

PDP             20,101