Edo 2020: Obaseki wins, floors Oshiomhole, Ize-Iyamu, destroys godfathersim in Edo

Incumbent Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has won the Saturday governorship election in the State. The governor floored Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and former national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole.

After the announcement of results from the 18 local governments on Sunday by the INEC, Obaseki won the majority votes and won 13 local governments while Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the APC, won in 5 local governments. Incumbent Governor Obaseki and the PDP not only defeated Ize-Iyamu and the APC but crushed the godfather(s) in the state. The PDP and Obaseki have successfully led the Edo people to prove that Edo is not Lagos.

Meanwhile, the APC agent protested the result at the collation centre, threatening that the party has rejected the   result. However, official statement is still expected from the state party leadership and the candidate, Ize-Iyamu.

The results in the 18 local governments as announced by the INEC are as follows:


APC             5,199

PDP             7,870

Esan central

APC             6,719

PDP             10,794

Esan northeast

APC             6,559

PDP             13,579

Esan southeast

APC             9,237

PDP             10,563

Esan West

APC             7,189

PDP             17,433


APC             18,218

PDP             41,030

Uhunmwode LGA

APC             5,972

PDP             10,022


APC             10,202

PDP             27,621

Owan east

APC             19,295

PDP             14,762

Owan west

APC             11,193

PDP             11,485

Ovia northeast

APC             9,907

PDP             16,987

Etsako West

APC             26,140

PDP             17,959

Oredo LGA

APC             18,365

PDP             43,498

Etsako east

APC             17,011

PDP             10,668

Etsako central

APC             8,359

PDP             7,478

Akoko Edo

APC             22,963

PDP             20,101



APC 10,458

PDP   13,445

Ovia southwest

APC   10,636

PDP   12,659