FG dissolves Nigerian Maritime University’s Governing Council 

Spread the love
By Richards Adeniyi
The Federal Government has approved the dissolution of the Governing Councils of the Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Delta State and the University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

In a statement Thursday, the spokesperson of the Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Gooong, said the dissolution of the Governing Councils of the two universities takes immediate effect.

“The Honourable Minister thanked members of the Governing Council for their service to the Institutions and wished them success in their future endeavours,” he said.

The ministry did not state the reason for the dissolution.

The Governing Council of the University of Port Harcourt was inaugurated by the Education Minister, Adamu Adamu, on January 18, 2017 while the Governing Council of the Nigerian Maritime University was inaugurated on March 22, 2018.