Crisis in House as Gbajabiamila fails colleagues he promised chairmanships

The House Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila has announced the composition of the chairmanship of standing committees of the House, and his hardest working foot soldier got short-changed.

Hon. Abdulmummin Jibrin headed the Gbaja-Wase campaign group in the run-up to the House election in June. Many had thought the former appropriation committee chairman would be compensated for his effort with a chairmanship

But as Gbajabiamia named the chairmen of the committees during plenary on Thursday, Jibrin got zilch.

Other hopeful also got their hope shattered. And a protest broke out right after the Speaker announced the appointments.

The newly appointed committee chairmen include Muktar Betara Aliyu (APC, Borno)—for the appropriation committee; Tunji Ojo—for the NDDC committee; and James Faleke—for the Finance committee.

AbdulRasak Namdas was appointed new chairman of Committee on Army; Nicholas Mutu, for the committee on Gas Resources; Oluwole Oke, for Committee on Public Accounts; and Tajudeen Abbas, for the Land Transport Committee.

The list appears not to favour some lawmakers as several of them gathered in front of the Speaker in what appears like a protest.