NUJ to mark 30 anniversary of Dele Giwa

    Spread the love
    The Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, Lagos State Council, is to mark the 30th anniversary of the assassination of renowned journalist, Mr. Dele Giwa, with a colloquium in Lagos on Wednesday, October 19, 2016.
    Dele Giwa, pioneer Editor-in-Chief of NewsWatch magazine, was killed via a parcel bomb at his Ikeja, Lagos residence on Sunday, October 19, 1986.
    According to a statement issued yesterday by the Chairman and Assistant Secretary of Lagos NUJ, Messrs Deji Elumoye and Alfred Odifa, late Dele Giwa is being remembered 30 years after his gruesome murder for what he stood for as a through bred professional journalist.
    The colloquium with the theme: Safety of Journalists and Culture of Impunity in Africa, the release said, being put together in partnership with Dele Giwa Foundation, will hold at Multipurpose Hall of Radio Lagos/Eko FM, Agidingbi road in Ikeja by 10.00amwith Social Critic and Rights Activist, Mr. Femi Falana, SAN, as Guest Speaker.
    Those to discuss Falana’s paper at the event to be chaired by former President of NUJ and Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Internally Displaced Persons, IDP, Hon. Sani Zorro, include Commissioner of Police, Lagos State, Mr. Fatai Owoseni; President of Tell Communications Ltd, Mr. Nosa Igiebor and President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors, Mrs Funke Egbemode.
    Other discussants are the Deputy Managing Director of ThisDay Newspapers, Mr. Kayode Komolafe; Second Vice President of Nigerian Bar Association, Mr. Monday Ubani and the Managing Director of The Sun Newspapers, Mr. Eric Osagie.
    The statement further said the Executive Secretary of Dele Giwa Foundation, Mr. Richard Akinnola will deliver a keynote address while Special Guests of Honour at the occasion include Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, CON; Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State; Speaker of Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa and the three Senators representing Lagos State at the National Assembly vis Senators Adeola Solomon,  Oluremi Tinubu and Gbenga Ashafa.