Massive shake-up in Nigerian Air Force’s top echelon  

Spread the love



The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) on Tuesday announced new postings and redeployments of senior officers.

Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Oladayo Amao, named Branch Chiefs, Air Officers Commanding (AOCs), Commandants of tri-Service and NAF institutions as well as Unit Commanders.

No fewer than 20 Air vice Marshals were appointed. The AVM is equivalent to a two-star Major General in the military.

Branch Chiefs: AVM Ayoola Jolasinmi, Air Officer Commanding (AOC), Air Training Command (ATC), Kaduna now Chief of Defence Policy and Plans (CDPP) at Defence Headquarters (DHQ); ex-Chief of Aircraft Engineering at Headquarters NAF (HQ NAF), AVM Musa Muktar moves to DHQ as Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation (CDTI).

READ ALSONigerian Air Force launches successful strikes against Boko Haram Terrorists

AOC Logistics Command (LC), Ikeja, AVM Charles Ohwo becomes Chief of Policy and Plans (COPP), HQ NAF, Abuja; AVM Jackson Yusuf, former AOC Special Operations Command (SOC), Bauchi appointed Chief of Training and Operations (CTOP), HQ NAF; AVM Abubakar Liman Air Intelligence Branch now Chief of Air Intelligence, HQ NAF.

AVM Emmanuel Wonah, former Managing Director NAF Investments Limited (NAFIL) named Chief of Aircraft Engineering (CAE), HQ NAF; AVM Raimi Salami redeployed as Chief of Communications Information Systems (CCIS) HQ NAF; AVM Olatokunbo Adesanya appointed as Chief of Logistics (CLOG), HQ NAF.

AVM Aliyu Bello, erstwhile AOC Mobility Command (MC), Yenagoa is now Chief of Standards and Evaluation (COSE), HQ NAF; AVM Nelson Calmday becomes Chief of Administration (COA), HQ NAF; AVM Paul Jemitola is now Air Secretary, HQ NAF.

Commander 081 Pay and Accounting Group, Ikeja, AVM John Ochomma is now Chief of Accounts and Budget (CAB), HQ NAF; AVM Idi Lubo, former AOC Tactical Air Command (TAC) designated Commandant Armed Forces Resettlement Centre (AFRC).

AVM Anthony Tuwase now Commandant, Armed Forces Command and Staff College (AFCSC), Jaji; former AOC Ground Training Command (GTC), Enugu; AVM Mohammed Yakubu becomes Commandant of Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Kaduna; AVM Sayo Olatunde named Commandant Air Force War College (AFWC), Makurdi.

READ ALSONigerian Air Force helicopter crashes in undisclosed lagoon

AVM Abraham Adole now AOC TAC, Makurdi; AVM Tajudeen Yusuf AOC SOC, Bauchi; AVM Iboro Etukudo, AOC MC, Yenagoa; AVM Nanjul Kumzhi, AOC ATC, Kaduna; ex-Director of Public Relations and Information, NAF, AVM Ibikunle Daramola becomes AOC, GTC, Enugu; AVM Hassan Abubakar appointed AOC LC, Ikeja.

AVM Emmanuel Eze named Group Managing Director NAF Holding Company; Air Commodore Esen Efanga now Commander Air Task Force Operation HADIN KAI; Group Captain Dogari Apyeyak now Air Component Commander, Operation Thunder Strike.

Amao charged them to explore their critical thinking mindsets towards proffering workable solutions and strategies to be deployed against the various security challenges.