Connect with us


Speaker, Minority Leader, lead defectors in Oyo Assembly



Spread the love

The Speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly, Right Honourable Olagunju Ojo, Minority Leader on Tuesday led five other lawmakers in defection to three political parties.

The Speaker, representing Orire State Constituency, Mrs. Wunmi Oladeji, representing Ogbomoso North, and Solomon Olukayode, representing Ogbomoso South, dumped the Labour Party, LP, whose mandate brought them to the State House of Assembly and defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

Hon. Gbenga Oyekola, representing Atiba, and Hon Peter Oyetunji, representing Ogo Oluwa/Surulere, dumped the LP and defected to the African Democratic Congress, ADC, and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, respectively.

The Minority Leader, Hon. Ademola Ige, Ibadan South-East II and Hon Fatai Adesina, Ibadan South-East I, both dumped the Accord Party and defected to ADC.

There were no specific reasons for the defections but they are not unconnected with the ongoing elite alignment and realignments across the country in the buildup to the 2019 general elections.

However, National Daily gathered that the Clerk of the House, Paul Bankole, read the separate letters of defection submitted by the lawmakers during Tuesday plenary in Ibadan, Oyo State.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.