2023: What Tinubu, others must do for Southwest to be victorious

The Afenifere Renewal Group (ARG), says the Yoruba nation will blame the National Leader of the All progressives Congress, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Governor of Ekiti state, Dr. Kayode Fayemi and Chief Bisi Akande if the Southwest fails to clinch the presidential ticket in 2023.

The group gave the warning on Sunday at a press briefing in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti state, noting that the Yoruba nation was ready to take over from President Muhammadu Buhari in 2023.

Addressing journalists at the meeting, Publicity Secretary of the group, Prince Michael Ogungbemi, urged prominent Yoruba leaders in the All Progressives Congress (APC) to urgently address the unwarranted division within its ranks and ensure that the region clinched the party’s presidential ticket in 2023.

“We can’t go into that race with a divided house. Tinubu, Fayemi, Akande, Chief Reuben Fasoranti, Gen. Alani Akinrinade, Prof. Banji Akintoye, Senator Femi Okurounmu, Senator Ayo Fasanmi, Chief Afe Babalola (SAN), and others must convene a meeting of the progressive politicians in the zone so that we can be united. If we have a candidate that is acceptable to both the North and the South, we will surely win.

“ARG had met and had concluded that the Yoruba nation is ready to lead Nigeria. We have a blueprint that we can present to any presidential candidate that can bring better democratic governance to all Nigerians.

“The South West is ready to take over in 2023. We have the human and material resources. The political leaders must go on consultations. We have six geopolitical zones and South West is just a block. Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu must lead this block. Also, Luckily, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, who is the Chairman of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) is from the South West.

He said all political leaders in the region must move for a united family to clamour for presidency for the South West and produce a unified front, adding that if they can speak with one voice, the region would actually clinch the ticket.