Connect with us


Enugu House to Investigate Ex-governor Chime



Spread The News


FORMER governor of Enugu State, Sullivan Iheanacho Chime, as well as the former Chairman, Enugu State Board of Internal Revenue, Mr. Felix Chime may be have queries to answer as the Enugu State House of Assembly have resolved to look into the IGR that accrued to the state between 2008 and June, 2016.

The decision to beam a searchlight on the activities of the Board of Internally Generated Revenue within the period under review sprung from petitions received from the general public that a lot of water passed under the bridge at period in question during the Chime administration. Subsequently, the Enugu State House of Assembly has set up a 7- man committee to investigate the alleged diversion of the State’s internally Generated Revenue ( IGR), by the chairman of the Board Of Internal Revenue, Enugu State between 2008 and June 2016.

In a petition presented at the floor of the House, the member Representing Enugu South Urban Constituency, Barrister Obinna Okenwa, said that the House has received petitions from members of the public alleging that the former chairman of the Board Of Internal Revenue, Mr Felix Chime and other principal officers of the Board had continually diverted the state’s Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) between 2008 and June 2016 into their private pockets.

ALSO SEE: Enugu Lawmaker mobilises populist support for Ugwuanyi

Barrister Okenwa lamented that the alleged diversion had further worsened the economic situation of the State.

He prayed the House to investigate as a matter of urgency, the activities of the Board between 2008 and June 2016 with a view to recovering the stolen money.

To ascertain the veracity of the alleged sleeze, the Speaker of the House, Hon Uchenna Ubosi set up a 7 man committee headed by Ozo Sunday Ude Okoye, member representing Awgu North to investigate the petition and report back to the House within 30 days.

Other members of the committee are Philip Nnamani, Christian Nwamba, Obinna Okenwa, Nkechi Omeje-Ogbu, Ezenta Ezeani and John Ukuta.