The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has promoted five directors in the state civil service to the position of permanent secretary.

The appointment, which takes immediate effect, was announced in a statement on Monday.

The new appointees are Somide Lateef Ayodele, Permanent Secretary in the Office of Infrastructure; Adegbite Olakunle, Permanent Secretary, Office of Drainage Services;  Emmanuel  Audu, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture; Oki Lyla Morenike, Permanent Secretary, Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission; and Adeshina Sikiru,   Permanent Secretary, Surveyor-General Office.

Sanwo-Olu urged the new appointees to use their extensive backgrounds and expertise to improve the quality of services to the public.

He noted that their duties centred on enhancing public life.

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of five distinguished directors within the state’s civil service to the prestigious position of Permanent Secretary. In doing so, I have encouraged these appointees to effectively apply their wealth of experience and knowledge to elevate service delivery to our esteemed residents.

“In my address, I underscored the significantly increased tasks and responsibilities inherent in this position, particularly at a time when our citizens hold high expectations of the government to enhance their lives and navigate economic challenges,” Sanwo-Olu said.