Connect with us


Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi ‘leaked’ winner, Saka, Odegaard and Musiala ranked



Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi 'leaked' winner, Saka, Odegaard and Musiala ranked
Spread The News

Inter Miami superstar Lionel Messi has been confirmed as the winner of the 2023 Ballon d’Or award in a list leaked online.

Goal reports that Messi finished in first position in the voting ahead of Erling Haaland of Manchester City and Paris Saint-Germain’s Kylian Mbappe.

Haaland and Mbappe were in second and third positions respectively.

The top five is completed by Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid) and Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City).

READ ALSO: Davido chooses between Messi, Ronaldo

Other notable players in the final 10 shortlist are Victor Osimhen (Napoli), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Karim Benzema (Al Ittihad), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid) and Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona).

On this year’s shortlist, which is based on performances over the season, rather than a calendar year, is an array of quality players. The Premier League dominates the list with 14 players of the 30.

Messi is the strong favourite to win his eighth Ballon d’Or after his heroics for his nation in the World Cup.

The Men’s Ballon d’Or isn’t the only award being handed out, with the Feminin Ballon d’Or winner also being announced. Chelsea’s Sam Kerr, Guro Reiten and Millie Bright have been named on the shortlist alongside Arsenal’s Amanda Ilestedt and Kate McCabe. Barcelona and Spain ace Aitana Bonmati is the hot favourite to win her first Ballon d’Or.

Real Madrid superstar Jude Bellingham is many people’s favourite to become the first Englishman to win the Kopa Trophy. The annual prize is awarded to the best Under-21 player and Bellingham is joined by the likes of Jamal Musiala, Xavi Simons, Eduardo Camavinga and Rasmus Hojlund in the nominations.

And finally, the Yashin Trophy will be awarded to the best goalkeeper. Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsdale has been nominated but Aston Villa No.1 Emiliano Martinez has been heavily backed to win.



  1. Messi
  2. Haaland
  3. Mbappé
  4. Vinicius Jr.

5: De Bruyne

6: Rodri

7: Gündogan

8: Osimhen

9: Julian Alvarez

10: Lewandowski

11: Bellingham

12: Bernardo Silva

13: Benzema

14: Kvaratskhelia

15: Lautaro

16: Saka

17: Emi Martinez

18: Ødegaard


19: Salah

20: Musiala