Connect with us


Just in: Bamidele, Umahi, two others emerge principal officers of tenth senate



Spread The News


Senate President Godswill Akpabio has announced the principal officers of the majority party – the All Progressives Congress (APC) – in the upper legislative chamber.

On the floor of the senate on Tuesday, Akpabio announced Opeyemi Bamidele, senator representing Ekiti central, as majority leader, and David Umahi, senator representing Ebonyi south, as the deputy majority leader.

READ ALSOSenate Minority leader race: Hurdles before Tambuwal

Ali Ndume, senator representing Borno south, was named as chief whip of the senate, and Lola Ashiru, senator representing Kwara south, as deputy chief whip.

Meanwhile, the opposition parties are yet to reach a consensus on who emerge as principal officers for the opposition.

The People’s Democratic Party remains the major opposition party followed by the Labour Party which has eight senators, the Social Democratic Party and New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) have two senators each while APGA has one.