NLC, NUPENG scuttle inauguration of NSITF board

Spread the love


The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) invaded the Federal Ministry of Labor on Thursday to obstruct the inauguration of the board of the Nigerian Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF).

NLC President, Ayuba Wabba and NUPENG members stormed the office to stop the inauguration of the board by the minister of Labor and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige, for excluding the announced chairman of the board, former NUPENG Secretary General, Frank Kokori from the

In a press invitation by the Ministry of Labor and Employment, the name of the board chairman, Frank Kokori, was omitted from the list, but an aide to the minister directed journalists to make furtherinquiries from the presidency on the matter.

The minister was, however, not available to give further clarification on the impasse even as there were insinuations that the inauguration must have been moved to an unknown location.

ALSO READ: CACOL faults court on discharge, acquittal of SEC DG 

The inauguration of the NSITF board has been generating crisis between the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole, and the Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, since the board members were announced by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo
in 2017, then, as acting president.

Members of the board include Mohammed Yinusa and Timothy Olawale as representatives of Nigeria Employers Consultative Association (NECA), Ibrahim Khaleel and Waheed Adeyanju representing the Nigeria Labour Congress, (NLC).

Others are Ifeoma Anyawuataku of the labor ministry, Dutse Aminu of the Central Bank of Nigeria, and Jasper Azutalam, Tijani Suleiman, Kemi Nelson, Bayo Somefun, all of NSITF.