Finally, Senate approves ex-service chiefs as ambassadors

In spite of petitions and public disapproval, the Nigerian Senate on Tuesday confirmed former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin; former Chief of Air Staff, Ibok Ibas; and former Chief of Naval Staff, Abubakar Sadique as non-career ambassadors.

President Muhammadu Buhari nominated the four early in month in appreciation of their loyalty when they served as the nation’s service chief.

The ICC announced last year it got enough evidence to investigate the Nigeria military for war crime, crime against humanity, and others.

The body still awaits its judges for a nod of approval.

But the initial announcement created excitement which made CSOs and rights groups to start petitioning foreign missions in Nigeria to reject the service chiefs.