Connect with us


Here is all you need to know about the Schengen Visa



Spread the love


Schengen states consist of 26 European countries. If any non-European enters any of these countries, they would require a Schengen Visa to enter the country’s borders. Once the Visa is issued, an individual can travel to different Schengen countries without needing identity checks. So, if you plan a trip to a Schengen country, one must get the necessary visa to enter.

Who needs the Schengen Visa?

Non-European citizens from Russia, China, India and Africa, among other countries, need the Schengen Visa. However, citizens of the USA, Mexico, Canada, Brazil, Japan and Australia have entered into a Visa waiver agreement with the EU (European Union). Under this agreement, the citizens of these nations can freely enter any Schengen country without a Visa. However, their stay should not be more than 90 days.

Types of Schengen Visas

There are three main types of Schengen Visas which are as follows –

  • Type A Visa

This Visa is for airport transfers. It allows travelers to wait for their connecting flights or transit through the international zone of a Schengen country’s airport. Entry into the Schengen country is however not allowed.

  • Type C Visa

The Visa allows holders to stay or travel in Schengen countries for up to 90 days. It is the most common Schengen Visa intended for short-term stays. This Visa can be further subdivided into single-entry, double-entry or multiple-entry visas.

  • Type D Visa

This Visa is intended to allow a long-term stay in a Schengen country. Any foreigner who wants to study or work in a Schengen country for more than 90 days has to avail this visa.

How to apply for a Schengen Visa?

You can apply for the visa at the consular office in your country. Fill out and submit the visa application form along with the required fee to get the visa.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.