Buhari approves new board for NNPC, sacks Kachickwu as GMD

Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved a new Board of Directors for the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, relieving Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu as the Group Managing Director of the NNPC.

According a statement released and signed by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, Dr. Emmanuel Kachikwu is now the Chairman of the NNPC Board while Dr. Maikanti Kaclla Baru is the new Group Managing Director.

ALSO SEE: President Buhari and secretive cabal

Other members of the new constituted Board as provided for under section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997 are: The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and the Chief of Staff to the President, Mallam Abba Kyari; Dr Thomas M.A John; Dr Pius O. Akinyelure; Dr Tajuddeen Umar; Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and Mallam Yusuf Lawal.

President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, “and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”