Ekiti 2022: Uncertainty over APC primary election as 7 aspirants withdraw in protest

Spread the love


Uncertainty has overtaken the primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the nomination of the party’s candidate for the June 28 governorship election in Ekiti State. The uncertainty was, however, not unexpected. Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, one of the aspirants, had earlier called for the suspension of the primary election from holding on Thursday.  Bamidele had cited manipulation of the process as reason for the suspension. However, the party proceeded with the primary which in the early hours of Thursday was obstructed by protest from party members.

The aspirants for the APC governorship ticket include Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, Biodun Oyebanji, former Secretary to Ekiti State Government; Femi Bamisile, Bamidele Faparusi, Dayo Adeyeye; Demola Popoola; Kayode Ojo and Toyin Afolabi.

With the exception of Biodun Oyebanji, former Secretary to Ekiti State Government, the rest seven aspirants withdrew from the primary election protesting the manipulation of the process.

There was allegation that voting was going on at illegal venue for a particular aspirant identified as the aspirant endorsed by the governor.

The Ekiti State APC adopted direct primary for the election of its candidate, which requires voting in the 177 wards of the 16 local governments of the state.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had successfully held its primary election on Wednesday; the party adopted indirect primary election.