Eagles Coach, Eguavoen, releases list of 28 players for 33rd AFCON in Cameroon

Spread the love


The interim coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Austin Eguavoen, has released a list of 28 players to represent the country at the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations holding in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6, 2022.

Top on the list is Captain Ahmed Musa, who plays professional football in Turkey, Wilfred Ndidi, playing for Leicester in England, Victor Osimhen playing at Napoli, Italy, Kelechi Iheanacho playing at Leicester England, etc.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria will be playing their opening game on Tuesday, January 11, 2022, against the Pharaohs of Egypt in the group which also has Sudan and newcomers, Guinea Bissau. The group will be playing in Garoua, a northern city in Cameroon, Central Africa.

The full list of the invited Super Eagles players by Eguavoen contains four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders and 10 attackers.

The coach brought back the Captain of an U17 World Cup winning squad, Kelechi Nwakali; he also recalled retired Odion Ighalo to the Cameroon bound squad.

The full list reads: Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England).

All players are expected to arrive in camp in Abuja on December 29, except the England-based players. The deadline for the England-based players is Monday, January 3, 2022; while the competition begins January 6.