Why we decamped, 6 former PDP lawmakers reveals


By Lanre Adesanya

Six out of eight Peoples Democratic Party lawmakers at the Lagos State House of Assembly, who formalized their defection to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) have disclosed that their yesterday move was largely influenced by the outstanding performance of Gov. Akinwunmi  Ambode and good non discriminatory stance/ leadership qualities exhibited the Speaker Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa.

Commenting on why they defected, Famakinwa blazed the trail saying : “My reason to jettison the PDP was borne out of the monumental achievements of Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of the state.”

Also announcing his defection, Oluwa said: “My reason for joining APC is due to the fracas between Senator Ali-Modu Sheriff faction and Alhaji Ahmed Makarfi faction of the PDP.

“I admire  the leadership style of the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa and Governor Ambode.”

Idimogu said: “I appreciate the kind of relationship that we have here. I must confess that I am in love with Governor Ambode. The Governor has been kind to me and my constituents despite the fact that I was formally in the opposition.

“APC is better. I don’t know how to appreciate him (Ambode) than to join his party to move the state forward and this is largely to the benefit of my Igbo brothers.”

According to Sokunle, the decision to align with the ruling party was borne out of the desire to move the state, especially his constituency forward.

The only female lawmaker among the defectors, Hon. Sangodara, said that she took the step so as to serve her constituents better, saying ‘we are all aware of what is happening in PDP.’

The Minority Leader when contacted for comment kept mute.
The Five Honourable members who initially communicated their decampment intent via a letter addressed to the Speaker titled; “Letter of Defection from PDP To APC” and dated 16th February, 2017,signed by the defectors individually attested by the members in question, was read by the Clerk of the house.

The lawmakers, who defected are the  Minority Whip, Hon. Mosunmola Sangodara (Surulere II), and Hon. Hakeem Sokunle (Oshodi/Isolo I), Hon. Jude Idimogu Oshodi II,Hon.Dayo Famakinwa Ajeromi I,Hon.Fatai Oluwa Ajeromi II,Hon.Mosunmola Sangodara Surulere II and eventually Hon. Akeem Bello the former minority leader in PDP who merely announced his intention to defect verbally on the floor when all least expected.

It had been reported in some sections of the media on February 7 that six out of the eight PDP lawmakers in the assembly were set to defect to the ruling APC.

While welcoming the defectors, Obasa said: “For the fact that these people have joined us, let us welcome the defectors. There is a pleasure in dumping PDP.”

The other lawmakers took turn to welcome the defectors into the APC and exchanged pleasantries with them.

The Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Sanai Agunbiade said in his contributions that “No reasonable man will continue to live in a house that has given signs of collapse. The defection is a welcome development.

“As the majority of leader of the House, I welcome you. This has increased the strength of the ruling party and deflated the strength of minority.”

According to Hon. Olanrewaju Ogunyemi, the Chairman, House Committee on Education, the defecting lawmakers deserve commendation for their courage to stand up for what is right.

Hon. Yinka Ogundimu said: “The decision is noble and historic and it is a welcome development. It shows that the head of the assembly has led well. It means there is a good manager at the helms of affairs.”

The Chairman, House Committee on Information, Strategy and Security, Hon. Tunde Braimoh, said that the speaker’s dutifulness, responsibility, solidarity and fraternity made the defection possible.

The two lawmakers left in the opposition, Hon. Akande and Hon. Olorunrinu also commended the performance of Governor Ambode and leadership style of Obasa, while wishing the defectors well in their new party.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment