Connect with us


Olubadan, Ladoja distance selves from coronation ceremony today



Spread The News

The Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Saliu Adetunji and one of the High Chiefs of Ibadanland, Chief Rasheed Ladoja dissociated themselves from the historic coronation of 21 new Obas holding today at the Mapo Hall in Ibadan.

In a statement by the Olubadan’s Director of Media and Public Affairs, Adeola Oloko, Adetunji said the coronation does not enjoy his blessing.

The statement reads: “I have said it for the umpteenth time that I am opposed to the chieftaincy review and its recommendations as the process for such exercise has not been followed.

“Besides, as the father of Ibadan indigenes irrespective of political and ideological persuasion, I cannot attend an occasion where local government executives of one political party have been sending text messages to the party members in Ibadan land to mobilise for the event as if it is a political rally.

“So, as the prescribed and appointing authority on Ibadan chieftaincy matters, I consider, until otherwise reversed, that any conferment of crowns on anybody is an exercise in futility.”

Similarly, Chief Ladoja, a former governor of the state described the review as illegal. He has also taken the state to court over the matter.

Recall that the Oyo State Governor, Abiola Ajimobi, on Friday presented letters of conferment of kingship to 30 new kings in Ibadan.

ALSO SEE: Ladoja asks court to set aside panel’s report on Olubadan stool

The presentation followed the recommendation of the committee set up by the governor to review the Ibadan chieftaincy declaration.

The High Chief elevated are the Otun Olubadan of Ibadanland, Senator Lekan Balogun; the Ashipa Olubadan of Ibadanland, High Chief Eddy Oyewole; the Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Owolabi Olakuleyin; the Osi Balogun of Ibadaland, High Chief Tajudeen Ajibola; Asipa Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Latifu Adebimpe; Ekarun Balogun of Ibadanland, High Chief Dr. Kolawole Adegbola; Ekerin Olubadan of Ibadanland, High Chief Abiodun Kola-Daisi; and the Ekarun Olubadan of Ibadanland, High Chief Amidu Ajibade. Each of them will now be addressed as His Royal Majesty.

The elevated baales are the Onijaye of Ijaye, Chief Lasisi Akano; Oniroko of Iroko, Chief Ismaila Olasunkanmi; Onikereku of Ikereku, Chief Moses Olasunkanmi; Baale Olodo, Chief Mudasiru Adebayo; Elegbeda of Egbeda, Chief Victor Okunola; Baale Okelade-Okin, Wahab Okedina; Alakufo of Akufo, Chief Olabamiji Thomas; Onido of Ido, Chief Gbolagade Babalola; Baale Awotan, Chief Dauda Omotoso; Baale of Abanla, Chief Tiamiyu Ladipo; and Baale Akanran, Chief James Obisesan. Each of them will now be addressed as His Royal Highness.

With the proposal, the existing 11 high chiefs, who are now presiding over the affairs of their council areas as the head of the traditional councils, will be recognised as kings, but they will still retain their high chief titles.


The 11 high chiefs will also retain their status as potential Olubadan, which means that despite being a king in a council area, Balogun will still become the next Olubadan.