Plateau: Gov. Lalong sponsored this impeachment, says Assembly member

Plateau APC lawmakers endorse killings, pass vote of confidence on Gov Lalong
Spread the love

By Kingsley Chukwuka

A member of the Plateau State House of Assembly, representing Langtang North-central State Constituency, Hon. Daniel Nanbol Listick has said it is obvious that Governor Simon Lalong sponsored the impeachment of the Assembly Speaker, Hon. Abok Ayuba.

Recall that the speaker was impeached Thursday at 6am by only eight members with heavy security barring other members and staff from gaining access to the Assembly complex.

Reacting to the saga, Hon. Listick said the illegality was sponsored by the Governor who has been having fracas with the legislature over the incident of the unfortunate killings in the State that took place two months ago.

Discribing the process as illegal impeachment in a statement sent to our correspondent, Listick said: “There were fracas between the Executive Arm of Government and the Legislature two months ago. Most of us on the Plateau are aware of what led to all these fracas.

“It is also part of our constitutional responsibility to defend the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

“On this faithful morning of Thursday 28.10.2021 some Honourble Members under the protection of well armed security personnel came into the House of Assembly Chambers and created gross confusion by carrying out an illegal act that they impeached the Hon. Speaker. Some of us went to the House but we’re refused access to the Chamber.

“They went against Section 92(2c) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Order 7 rule 14 of Standing Orders of the Plateau State House of Assembly.

“The Honourble Members that parpapreted this illegal act are as follows:

Rt. Hon. Baba Ibrahim Hassan – APC – Jos North North.

Hon. Naanlong Daniel Gapyil – APC – Mikang.

Hon. Livinus James Kwapfuan – APC – Shendam.

Hon. Eric Dakogol – APC – Quanpan North.

Hon. Abubakar Mohammed Ballo – APC – Quanpan South.

Hon. Yakubu Sanda – APC – Pengan.

Hon. Abdul Yanga – APC – Mangu North West.

Hon. Yahaya Mavo – APC – Wase”, Listick said.